Sunday Morning Music – Joni Mitchell’s Blue

There is something special about just hanging out on a Sunday morning with the stereo on.  I cannot think of anything better than being in the backyard and relaxing in a hammock with a cool drink and some even cooler tunes.  But even if you can’t kick off the shoes and put up your feet, it’s all right.  If you are being forced to clean the garage, let’s say, or go through your “piles” you can still make it a great day.  Just crank up the music and enjoy.

Okay, cleaning up sucks… That, packing and moving may be my three least favorite things to do in the world… And being home while home repairs are going on… Man!  Plus, I no longer have a hammock… Darn it, what the hell was I thinking… Okay, I am relaxing IN MY MIND.  Shhh… Relaxing…

There are so many albums I would classify as Sunday Morning Music.  In fact, maybe this will be a regular Sunday feature.  Of course, like most things, that list will change depending on my mood; and the list gets smaller when we begin to talk of classics.  So what happens when you have an artist with several classic albums and one who can be listened to every single day; and one of my all-time, absolute favorites?  Her work is luminous and historical and important.  We’re talking essential listening… and we’re talking Joni Mitchell.

I could have gone with Ladies of the Canyon and one of my favorites “For Free”… I could have gone with Court and Spark with its title track and “Free Man in Paris,” her homage to David Geffen… but I went with the album that Rolling Stone has as #30  in the top 500 best albums ever and may in fact be Joni’s best album.  It certainly turned the music world on its head, but I went with it because I was in the mood for today.

Joni Mitchell – Blue

The genius of Roberta Joan Anderson runs deep, from Canada all over the world.  This is her fourth album, and the break up of her relationship with Graham Nash is quite obvious on this record.  It so beautifully and honestly explores the many sides of love and loss, joy and heartbreak.  Joni herself said, “The Blue album, there’s hardly a dishonest note in the vocals. At that period of my life, I had no personal defenses. I felt like a cellophane wrapper on a pack of cigarettes. I felt like I had absolutely no secrets from the world and I couldn’t pretend in my life to be strong. Or to be happy. But the advantage of it in the music was that there were no defenses there either.”

To put yourself so fully out there and to open so much of yourself and your pain to the world is what makes great music.  Thank you, Joni.

My favorite tracks are “All I Want,” “My Old Man,” “Blue” “California” and a tune that ranks among my all-time favorite songs… the amazing “A Case of You.”

So enjoy your Sunday, even if you might be a little Blue.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

