Hey! Ho! Let’s Go! – The Original Punk’d With The Ramones

Ramones – Ramones

I think I first discovered The Ramones through The Uncle Floyd Show.  Some of the guys on that show, like Scott Gordon would hang out at Ken’s Magic Shop in Fair Lawn, NJ.  Good times for a kid like me.

That was further cemented in the crazy 1979 film Rock ‘n’ Roll High School.  What a crush I had on PJ Soles… Ahhh…

Again, I was much too young to understand or appreciate punk music, but I did like a few of their songs… It was only later that I really got the music, understood their place in history and fell in love with the rebellious, punk rockers from Queens.  It is hard to believe that Joey, Johnny and Dee Dee are all gone.

Many consider The Ramones to be the very  first punk band and their influence is remarkable.  According to Wikipedia, Douglas Colvin was fascinated with Paul McCartney using the name Paul Ramon during his years in the Silver Beatles, and thus he changed his name to Dee Dee Ramone, convinced the guys to do the same and called the band, The Ramones… The rest is history.

This album is so much fun and has some of my favorite punk rock tunes like “Blitzkrieg Bop,” “Beat on the Brat,” “Judy is a Punk” and “Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue.”

I’m not much of a head banger, but it is hard not to bop to this album, and like a good martini, this is best shaken not stirred.

Even with a massive, going on three weeks, yes I am on another anti-biotic, sinus infection headache, this album must be played LOUD!!!

So piss off the neighbors, turn the amps up to 11, explode your own head and blast away.

Ladies and gentlemen… THE RAMONES!

Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

