‘Ol Blue Eyes – Yes, Sinatra… But Happy Birthday, Dad

Dear Dad:

Happy Birthday.  I forgive you for selling original Frank Sinatra and Nat “King” Cole albums on our driveway for 25 cents.  Even as a kid, I knew to grab as many as I could take and bring them back inside.  Sadly, it was not all of them.  Between those, my baseball cards, Planet of the Apes Playset and Evil Knievel Stunt Set… all gone… I may have been able to afford that condo for you.

I’m still working on it, but boy oh boy… That would have been a good nest egg and a nice place to start.

Other than that, you are the most loving, classy, hard-working, dedicated, selfless guys I know.  I love you, and this one’s for you.

Frank Sinatra – Songs For Swingin’ Lovers!

You know it’s funny… or sad… but I do not remember which albums I rescued… Need to dig them out.  Nor do I remember who your favorite artist or band is.  Remind me to ask you that.  I remember a box of 8-Tracks… Probably some Sinatra and Cole, definitely some classical and Manilow and show tunes… Hmmm… And one thing for sure… NEVER any Rock ‘n Roll… Okay, really???  What was up with that?  You had to be hipper than that… You just had to be.

Who doesn’t love Sinatra?  Even as a kid, I dug Sinatra.  I did not APPRECIATE him until later… but I dug him.  And Ian Murray, you are on notice for inviting David Cook to see him and your grandfather in Chicago and not me… No guilt… just know I NEVER saw Sinatra live… I think that is correct… Surely I would remember that.  Damn.

This album is a classic and one of my favorites.  Frank’s output was amazing and most of what I have seems to be the big collections… CapitolReprise, etc. but I do have a few of the actual albums and this one swings.  No one could interpret a pop standard like Frank.  No wonder they swooned.

The arrangements by Nelson Riddle are brilliant, and while I do not have the musical brain to understand exactly what he is doing, I do know he was revered and I can definitely hear certain things on songs he touches.

I’ll just list some of my faves, but this album swings from start to finish… and since Frank always honored the song and the writers, I’ll do the same.

Songs For Swingin’ Lovers! is so utterly delicious and delightful.  I see a table for two set on top of a New York City rooftop… white linen… a candle… a rose… lots of wine and dancing… and Frank and his orchestra… Hell yeah, live!!!

“You Make Me Feel So Young” – Written by Joesf Myrow and Mack Gordon.

And then these four in a row… Hello!!!

“Old Devil Moon” – Written by Burton Lane and E.Y. Harburg.

“Pennies From Heaven” – Written by Johnny Burke and Arthur Johnston.

“Love Is Here to Stay” – Written by George Gershwin, lyrics by Ira Gershwin (possibly after George’s death).  The song was originally titled “It’s Here to Stay” and then “Our Love Is Here to Stay” but was released as this.

And “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” – Written by Cole Porter.

“How About You” – Written by Burton Lane and Ralph Freed.

I love New York in June… I love Sinatra… and I will say it with pride, I love my Dad.  Happy Birthday, Bud!

Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

