Hopefully Life is a Long Run – The Eagles

Thoughts and prayers go out to the folks in Joplin, Missouri.  It’s all a bit incomprehensible.  Between this and watching a repeat of Oprah the other night with Jaquelin Saburido and Mattie Stepanek, it is really hard to even remotely feel sorry for myself and any of the minor issues I have to deal with.  I know sometimes they seem like the end of the world, and I do not want to dismiss the importance of what I’m dealing with, but man… There is a whole lot of heartbreak and a whole lot of joy in the world… and we do ultimately get to decide on some of it.  Some of it!

The Eagles – The Long Run

My old friend Colin, who I mentioned yesterday hated The Eagles… I mean HATED them.  I could never understand why.  It was  polarizing.  Sometimes I thought he just did it so no one could accuse him of being mainstream.  I don’t know…

They have always been one of my favorite bands.  Hell, the second concert I ever went to was The Eagles, Heart and the Little River Band at Giants Stadium in 1980.  My Dad took Harry Atlas and me and made us leave during the Eagles encore.  Granted we had been there a really long time, but still.  My first concert was Chicago and Orleans and was a special side trip while I was at sleep away camp.  Fun!

I met Timothy B. Schmidt in a movie theatre in Woodland Hills… not so nice… and Don Henley at an event at Westwood Music… an absolute delight.  We talked about education and kids for half an hour.  It was quite amazing in fact.  My friend Karen helped organize the whole event and had invited me as a wonderful favor.  The next thing I know Don and I are conversing and I call Karen over to introduce HER to Don Henley.  Strange… but it makes for a great story.

The stories of the band’s insane dysfunction seem to be real and I hear, despite their rapport on stage, that Henley and Glenn Frey still do not get along.  Who the heck knows.  Kicking out Don Felder seemed to be cold, and might have, in fact, been about money… but perhaps the stories about him were true, too.  It’s one of those things where you need to ignore all that and just listen to the music.

Two of my favorite lyrics of all time come from “Already Gone”

“Just remember this, my girl, when you look up in the sky
You can see the stars and still not see the light.”

and

“So often times it happens that we live our lives in chains
And we never even know we have the key.”

Great lyrics, great music, great songs and amazing live shows.  I have seen them three or four times… on one of their farewell tours sitting in front of Erik Estrada (I know, random right?) where their voices seemed a bit shot… and then years later at Staples where they sounded beyond good.  How they got that much better, I do not know, but the show was crazy good.

This album and Hotel California had the most impact on me.

“The Long Run” – A classic.

“I Can’t Tell You Why” – The obligatory, but really good Timothy B. Schmidt ballad.  Sorry, but I dig this song a lot.  Sue me.

“In the City” – How I love Joe Walsh.  Amazing… I mean amazing guitar player and songwriter in his own right.

“Heartache Tonight” – Total Glenn Frey style.  Another gem.

“Those Shoes” and “The Greeks Don’t Want No Freaks” – Fun!!

“Sad Cafe” – Ain’t nothing wrong with a great rock ballad and this song is one of my favorites.

These lyrics, along with the way Don sings it, slay me each and every time…

“Now I look at the years gone by,
And wonder at the powers that be.
I don’t know why fortune smiles on some
And let’s the rest go free.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me, The News Blues

Leave a Reply

