My White Boy Rap: Beastie Boys – Hot Sauce Committee Part Two

Mmm… hot sauce.  I love hot sauce.  My buddy Mr. Rich got me deep into hot sauces… I think there are at least ten different bottles in my fridge now… And as the summer gets closer, those bottles and rubs like Slap Yo Mama (someone still owes me their BBQ oyster recipe by the way!!!) and Butt Rub will be coming out of the cupboard more often.  I love the Q!!!

So… back to the rap.  I am a white boy.  To explain what this means, I am going to quote my more musical genius Doppelganger, Ben Folds.  Okay, I wish he was my Doppelganger… or at least I was his muse.

“Let me tell y’all what it’s like
Being male, middle-class and white
It’s a b*tch, if you don’t believe
Listen up to my new CD (Sha-mon)

I got shit runnin’ through my brain
It’s so intense that I can’t explain
All alone in my white-boy pain
Shake your booty while the band complains”

Ben Folds has a wicked sense of humor, but I find great truth in this song.  Being an average white guy can be quite limiting, especially in Hollywood.  But the main reason I brought it up is that it colors what I was exposed to and what I wasn’t growing up.

The world of Hip Hop and Rap is somewhat foreign to me.  When I was a lad, all I knew was Run-D.M.C., The Sugarhill Gang and Beastie Boys.  That is kind of where it started and ended for me.  Since then, I listen to a whole lot more and have opened myself up to: Eminem, Snoop Dogg, Kanye, 2Pac, Jay-Z, Mos Def , L’il Wayne and Nas.  I am no expert and I would never claim to understand where a lot of these artists are coming from.  At times we can be worlds apart… but as a human being who loves music, there is more to connect with than you think.

It was somewhat ironic that as soon as I put this record on today, the first thing I saw on-line was the shooting death of  Montae ‘M Bone’ Talbert of the Cali Swag District.  “Teach Me Hot to Dougie” is just one of those songs.  Again, further proof that, that whole world is very foreign to me… but as a person, how sad and what a tragic waste to be gone at 22.  Sorry folks, but there ain’t no coming back.

But on to more pleasant things.  While this has been on my radar for a while, my friend Kim Salter has been touting this one for a while… not sure if she got an Advanced Copy… hmmm… but she was calling this her summer CD months ago.  Kiiiiimmmm, you have some splainin’ to do!

She has this one right for sure… this CD is a ton of fun and will be a definite presence at any of my BBQs.  How can this white guy not like my Jewish white guy brethren.  The two Adams and Michael are great writers… very smart… and also extremely smart entrepreneurs and business men.  They have endured a long, long time (25 years and counting), which in the music biz is no easy thing.

“Make Some Noise” – Classic.

Don’t Play No Game That I Can’t Win” with Santigold and “Too Many Rappers” with Nas… awesome.

Lots of great tracks here… I’m still making my way specifically through it and have enjoyed it so far after about three or four full listens.

I am gonna go on a limb and guess that 1986’s Licensed to Ill is in your collection!  I also really like Paul’s Boutique and To the 5 Boroughs and really appreciate what the band did post 911.

So start your summer today… Pull out your Beasties… literally not metaphorically of course.  Well wait a sec, what the heck!!!  We did say we wanted to start summer off today, right?  Summer!!!!

Grab your hot sauce and fire up that grill kiddies!  And count me in!


Leave a comment

Filed under Life... Plain and Not So Simple, Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

