Frightened Rabbit – Why Jodie Foster and I Are Now At Odds

Frightened Rabbit – The Winter Of Mixed Drinks

Jodie Foster and I have a problem.  Actually we have a few… First off, she went to Yale.  I am a double Yale reject… Once for undergrad and once for the School of Drama.  So be it.  It’s not like that would have helped my career.  Oh… wait a minute… )+(*&^%$%^&*()_+)+(*&^%$##%^&*(!!!!!!!

But here is the main musical bone of contention I have.  I have not seen The Beaver, and since I am in the midst of a boycott of all Mel Gibson’s films, I won’t be seeing it.  Sorry, Jodie… I still love you a lot, but I just cannot do it.  My issue with you is this… In the previews of the film you use Frightened Rabbits’ “Swim Until You Can’t See Land.”

I am not sure if it is used in the film. but boy… I REALLY WANTED TO USE THAT SONG IN A FILM.  And how the heck did you hear about Frightened Rabbit???  Huh???  Did you see the same Amoeba book that lists Staff Picks and what they are listening to???  I will admit that, that is how I heard about this band and the other Scottish treasures We Were Promised Jetpacks and The Twilight Sad!

And I will give you this… I am as close to directing a film as I am to becoming the next Pope.  Okay, maybe a little closer… I am actually impressed that you picked up on this band and this song.  You are musically in tune for sure… or have an amazing Music Supervisor… or both.

Maybe I should beg and gravel and try to get a job working for a music supervisor… That would be a dream job… You know, while I am waiting to act and write and now direct!  Man, I would love that.

Frightened Rabbit – The Winter Of Mixed Drinks

First of all, I love this title… simple and clever as hell… This album is most definitely NOT the winter of our discontent…
Is hell clever?  I don’t know… Anyway…
According to Wikipedia… Yes, it is one of my favorite sources to go and I will continue to quote from it… Scott Hutchinson describes the album like this:
“The theme I’m going for is pushing yourself out to the edge of things and being alone, feeling lost and not knowing where you are, which is how I’ve felt recently. It’s not all fun and games, but hopefully it’ll just be less obviously personal and brutal than the last record. Less oppressive.”

The band is compared to The Vaselines and the aforementioned The Twilight Sad and I guess I would call it Punk Rock Pop… Catchy songs and hooks, but with a definite edge.    Bottom line… it is a damn good album.
So don’t be frightened… and if you see Jodie, tell her I still love her.  I do!  And not in that Travis Bickle way, come on!
Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

