Struck By Lightning and Heavy Metal Thunder – Judas Priest’s British Steel

Heard the guys from Def Leppard being interviewed on Mark and Brian (95.5 KLOS) this morning.  What a hoot!  I love those guys, and they almost had me change my listening mind, but no… another day for the Leppard.

Okay, if I asked you to describe me and my musical tastes Metal would probably not come to your mind.  Despite my desires, I do not have brass balls.  But my listening palate has expanded quite a bit.  Whereas most folks tend to refine themselves as they get older and move towards, perhaps, quieter forms of music like classical and jazz, I have had the doors flung wide open and my world literally rocked out.

I am certainly no expert, but I now listen to more Hip Hop and Rap than I ever did… classic renegade country… Afrobeat… and things I was never exposed to in my youth… Damn you, Jersey.  I’m kidding… It is my own fault, not that of my state.

Metal may be my weakest area in terms of knowledge and musical understanding, so I took it as a sign that while standing in line for over 45 minutes for Toy Story Mania at Disney land yesterday, I struck up a conversation with the tattooed, long-haired and very cool Bill Storkson, founder of My Victim and now a very successful sound design innovator and designer.  He was telling me about his band and work, and a new band which is starting to break called Orchid.

I told him I wrote about music but quickly realized that Metal was… well… a very unpolished subject for me.

Don’t get me wrong… I slightly banged my head when I was younger.  Wow, that explains so much… and I do know Metallica, Motorhead, Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, Ozzy, Queensryche, Dio and Motley Crue… Not bad, but a superficial knowledge for sure.  Judas Priest is probably my favorite of the lot and is another band I first heard courtesy of Jason Korfine’s boom box… That should be a radio show!  I love that title.  No one can steal it.  It’s mine.

I have actually seen Alice in Chains (fantastic) and part of Tool’s set at the Epicenter Festival.  And I simply loved the band and movie Anvil.  The documentary on them is an absolute joy and is a major must see, so go rent or download it NOW!!!  I saw it twice and it is astoundingly inspiring!

So thanks to Bill, here I am discussing Metal.

Judas Priest – British Steel (1980)

These “Metal G-ds” started in 1968 and are from Birmingham, England.  I did not remember their name came from the Dylan song “The Ballad of Frankie Lee and Judas Priest.”  Bad, Marc… bad!  Their music is raw and pure energy and just a ton of fun.   

Jason told me his company gets the day off for Rob Halford’s birthday.  Nice perk, boss man!

“Breaking the Law” and “Living After Midnight” got a ton of radio play and is how I knew the band.  These were FM radio staples for me… which meant that the true metal fans probably looked at this as a sell out and a move into rock and away from pure metal.  What can I say, I loved and still rock out to these songs and this whole album.

Ian Hill (bass) is the only founding member still with the band… but they are still going strong with a new album and tour coming up.

This is a great driving CD, so you know what to do… That’s right… Have a mid-life crisis, buy that Porsche rag top and crank this up as you floor it down the PCH!

Can you see me?  I am flashing you the heavy metal horns!

1 Comment

Filed under Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me, One Thumb - My Movie Reviews

One response to “Struck By Lightning and Heavy Metal Thunder – Judas Priest’s British Steel

  1. Barry

    Marc, I’d like to think my taste for metal influenced you somehow when we were roommates! Next time I’m in L.A. we’ll go catch some metal show at the Whiskey or some such.

Leave a Reply

