You Live, You Love, You Hurt… Augustana – Can’t Love, Can’t Hurt

The new, strangely self-titled Augustana album came out yesterday.  I say that because you don’t expect a third album to be self-titled… At least I don’t.  What???

I have only heard the sample sound bytes, so I can’t really discuss it yet… But what I heard is really good and in keeping with the band’s feel and sound.

This reminded me of how much I love this group  They seemed to come out of nowhere and were championed by none other than Counting Crows, who I saw them sort of open for… I say sort of, because Adam Duritz made a great point of having all the bands on the bill play at all different times.  He was tired of people showing up late and missing the opening act, which is often a great way to discover new music and a new favorite band… So there he was coming out on the first song and playing sets with Augustana and Michael Franti and Spearhead… the show was like an old-fashioned, travelling medicine show and was great fun.  In fact, I think that is what they called it.  Doh.

Augustana – Can’t Love, Can’t Hurt

I also offer you the deal of the day… you can download this great CD for only $5 at Amazon!!!

http://www.amazon.com/Cant-Love-Hurt/dp/B0017VNX7I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1303850643&sr=8-1

This is their second album and suffers absolutely no sophomore slump… In fact, I think this may be a stronger effort.  I may be a little biased, in that I heard this one first and then worked my way backwards, but I am a fan of both.  Definitely recommend listening to All the Stars and Boulevards too… Some amazing songs on that one, like their huge hit “Boston.”

There is not a dud on this… Each and every track is great… Seriously… My fave is probably #6… the sultry, “Fire” which is one of those sexy rock tunes you want on the stereo when you’re… you know what I mean…

So I promise you… put this on… you’ll get a little Counting Crows… a little Wallflowers… and a whole lot of melody driven, American rock.  You will not get hurt and you will love this.  I guarantee it.

1 Comment

Filed under Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

One response to “You Live, You Love, You Hurt… Augustana – Can’t Love, Can’t Hurt

  1. kevincorcoranjr

    I love the new album from Augustana. They are actually from my hometown… I saw them a few times live before they even put out their first album! As a fan all along the way… I can honestly say I think they have grown-up a lot and this album is a beautiful piece for them.

Leave a Reply

