I Said Counting Crows Not Eating Crow

Eating crow is apparently disgusting… thus the term to make one endure the humiliation when one is wrong.  Supposedly it comes from the 1850s.  I remember hearing that Gary David Goldberg did not want Michael J. Fox for Family Ties.  After the show became a hit and Fox became a super star, he apparently, in jest, sent Goldberg a lunch box with a dead crow inside.  There are so many people I would send picnic baskets to… Man…

Why am I telling you this story… I don’t know… I put it in the title and felt the need to justify.

For me, I would rather eat some humble pie… I mean, if I was ever wrong and had to put my tail between my legs and eat something.

Counting Crows – August & Everything After

From the moment I heard these guys on the radio, I was hooked.  They are great on record and they are great live.  I remember walking out of  either the Roxy or Dan Tana’s… I know, not much of a specific memory… How sad and odd is that… It was somewhere in that area… but anyway… Adam Duritz was sitting on a bench out front.  I got a little awe struck and mumbled out a Chris Farley like, I love you man… or something completely dorky like that.  He was so fricking cool, he just kind of looked at me and said thanks, and clearly did not want to engage in a conversation.  You know, a bit TOO cool.  I was a bit saddened by that, but whatever… maybe he was having an off night.

Either way, I still like him and I still like the music.  And there is something on at least every album that makes listening worthwhile.

My favorite song (Einstein on the Beach (For An Eggman), interestingly enough can only be found on a DRG sampler and on the greatest-hits collection Films About Ghosts.

Since “Round Here” and “Mr. Jones” are probably the first songs I heard, I picked August & Everything After, but my favorite songs from this album are “Perfect Blue Buildings,” “Anna Begins” and “A Murder of One,” but to be honest I love each and every track on this one.

Influences include Van Morrison, R.E.M. and The Band… three of my all-time favorites… and their debut (this one) was produced by the master, Mr. T-Bone Burnett.

http://countingcrows.com/

Part of the reason I still like and respect Adam Duritz is because of his support for my college mate Peter Stuart and his fantastic band Dog’s Eye View.  If you like Counting Crows and artists like Paul Simon and The Beatles, you will really like Dog’s Eye View, too.  I think they may need a page of their own!

http://www.myspace.com/dogseyeview

Awesome song and a big hit!  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Maz6jFdvn2Q

My favorite song of theirs, I think… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gKJLl7lxks

Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

