Not Hung Over, But Sundays Are Always Good For a Morning Bender

The Morning Benders – Big Echo

This one is gonna be short and sweet because I am under the gun and do not want to blow the streak.  But maybe you’ll like that… name the album… Tell you why I like it… and be done.

I hear MGMT and Phoenix, both bands I really like a lot, so that is good.  Actually, they seem to play and tour with a ton of bands I love, like:

Broken Bells, Grizzly Bear, The Kooks, Death Cab for Cutie, Ra Ra Riot, Yo La Tengo, The Submarines and The Black Keys… Hell, that is a good part of my iPod right there.

These guys are an alternative or indie band (depending on how you want to tag them) from Berkeley, but now… of course… are in Brooklyn.  I’m telling you… the new Rock n’ Roll capital of the world… Brooklyn, NY!!!

This is their latest (2010) and is filled with great pop melodies, great production and the Brian Wilson and Phil Spector “Wall of Sound” influences that I dig.

My favorite tracks are:

The dreamy and beach sounding “Excuses,” “Promises,” the very MGMT sounding “Cold War” and the lush, gorgeous “Pleasure Sighs.”

I think you will enjoy this one a lot, so go ahead… have you own morning bender.  Well, okay… maybe the Sunday paper, a cup of coffee and this great album instead.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

