My FM Radio Head

Radiohead has been mentioned a number of times as an influence on several of the bands we have discussed, so it seems like a good time to talk about them on their own.

Radiohead – The Bends (1995)

Yes, I know what you are thinking… Marc, this is another UK alternative band… What the heck is going on with you???

I promise I will give you some good old classic rock this week… and maybe a few other surprises, too.

As much as I truly love “Creep” (1992) and the many cover versions I have heard done, this is the CD I grabbed and that grabbed me today.  Although strangely, I think it was hearing Chrissie Hynde and the Pretenders at the Wiltern years and years ago do a version of “Creep” that really made me stand up and take notice of this powerhouse band.

I will freely admit that I was a late comer to Radiohead.  Not quite a “bandwagoneer,” but I cannot claim that I was listening before anyone knew who they were.  I mean, I could but I’d be a big fat liar.  Okay, a chubby liar who is working hard to take off some pounds, but you know what I mean.

For whatever reason, I had my musical renaissance later than most.  In fact, I am in the middle of it now and it has opened my ears up to worlds of new music.  Radiohead is a fantastic and important band.

This is their second album and comes after their breakthrough debut, Pablo Honey (1993).  But it is OK Computer (1997) that vaulted them to international acclaim and is considered a decade altering and defining album.

So why this one?  It never shot up on the US charts… but it did make many year-end, best of lists… For me, and most importantly, I like it.  That is why I pick albums… They are like fine wine.  Who cares how much they cost or what scores they got, as long as we really like and enjoy them.  This is deep, unique and uncompromising music.  It rocks, it experiments and it moves me.

And with music, it all goes around like a record… REM (a college fave of mine) influenced Radiohead then became fans themselves… and Radiohead influenced a ton of bands, including Muse, Coldplay and Elbow, who we discussed yesterday.  That’s right, don’t skip the weekend blogs… You might miss a good one.

“High and Dry” is my second favorite Radiohead song and I just love the yearning of Thom Yorke’s falsetto.

“Fake Plastic Trees” – A delicious song with more of that great falsetto and a hint of U2 perhaps.

“My Iron Lung” – Why I hear a little trippy Beatles in there.

“Street Spirit (Fade Out)” – Proof that when you have so many great songs, there is nothing “buried” at the end!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

