It’s Déjà Vu, All Over Again

Ah, the genius of Yogi Berra.

But it actually IS Déjà vu all over again.  Sat. night was my third year in a row seeing the AFTAF (Artists for the Arts Foundation) Concert.  Venice, Tommy Shaw and Michael McDonald at the Thousand Oaks Civic Center, and last year Venice, Curt Smith (Tears for Fears), the astounding Colin Hay (Men at Work) and Fee Waybill (The Tubes).

Saturday night featured the always remarkable and joyous Venice (if you haven’t figured it out, they put these nights together!!!) Richard Page (Mr. Mister), America and the legendary David Crosby.  Ahhh, so many great David Crosby and Graham Nash stories…

In a nutshell:

1) I saw David Crosby naked at the gym once… I of course did a double take, but thankfully he didn’t notice.  What?  I was at the sink, turned around and there he was.  Sorry, but seeing a rock ‘n roll legend stark nude is a bit… jarring.

2) My friend Russ and I gave up our seats for an injured David Crosby, Leonard Nimoy and their wives at the Paul Simon Rhythm of the Saints show at the Forum.

3) I played harmonica onstage once with Graham Nash… It will always be one of the highlights of my life.  There’s more to the story, but I’m trying to be terse.

The album of the day is C,S, N and Y’s Déjà Vu.

PS and by the way… I have an album signed by Crosby, Stills and Nash, but Neil Young refuses to sign it… and Graham Nash even asked him for me!!!

Summer of 1979… Sorry, I told you it was going to be a theme… although this one was truly not planned.  Sleep away camp in Lakewood, PA if I recall that correctly.  Several pivotal moments… I got teased mercilessly until I just lost it and wound up beating up one of my bullies… I lost one of my childhood idols on August 2nd when Thurman Munson died in a plane crash… I mean I was bawling my eyes out when I heard.  I have all the newspaper clippings somewhere, and I do have a prized, signed baseball by him… and, in my growing musical education, I listened virtually non-stop, all summer long, to Déjà Vu. Yes, folks… this is also a PERFECT album!  I love how on Wikipedia, they list the tracks by album sides…

Aside from being one of the most immensely listenable albums of all-time, you realize just how strong each of them are as songwriters.  As a unit, they formed such a cohesive, harmonious whole… yet as individuals, the brilliance was equal.

As David Crosby said so eloquently last night, before launching into the scathing social commentary of Ohio (and I am paraphrasing a bit… ) “As musicians, most of the time we want to make you boogey and move, but sometimes we need to be the troubadours and get out the message…”  This is one of the few bands who do both with beauty, grace and songs that will never leave you.  Parts of American history can be told through the music of Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young.  In fact, the history of man and culture and the world can be told through music.  Powerful!

Carry On – How much is going on this song?  I think I find something new on every listen!

Teach Your Children – “Feed them on your dreams. The one they pick’s the one you’ll know by.”  Leaves me speechless… and this is the song I played harp on with Graham!  Wow.

Almost Cut My Hair

Helpless – One of my absolute favorite songs of all time.

Woodstock (written by the amazing Joni Mitchell) – History in music and music history.

Déjà Vu

Our House – Who doesn’t know this song?

4 + 20

Country Girl

Everybody I Love You

Music moves you in so many ways… It moves you in dance, in spirit and thanks to CSN & Y into social activism and change!  Rock on!

1 Comment

Filed under Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

One response to “It’s Déjà Vu, All Over Again

  1. Robert Dolan

    Pretty much one of the great albums of all time. Pretty much every song on here is a classic. Feels as if the lads were searching for different meanings and different music in the wake of Vietnam and Nixon, as they search for the few things they can control: the length of hair, the values to impart to their children, order in the home. Great stuff.

Leave a Reply

