The Wailin’ Jennys: Firecracker – Album #3

For me, music is about the journey.  I have found that the quest for a particular band almost always has divergent paths and many times the detour is more exciting than the initial plan.  Little Steven’s Underground Garage had me searching for anything from a fantastic band called The Pigeon Detectives.  But sure enough, as I was reading through reviews on iTunes, I heard a few folks raving about The Rifles.  This was a most fortunate divergence, as The Rifles are now amongst my favorite bands!  PD is still there, too… Easy!!!  The point is… just open yourself up and listen… not only to the music, but to friends and family and anyone who is passionate about music.   In fact, an e-mail this morning from a new friend (Props out to Tuti) already has me on the hunt for two bands: The Twang and White Lies.

The Wailin’ Jennys – Firecracker

I will try to be better about discussing who and how and why I have come to find certain bands.  I was on iTunes and am pretty sure I was searching for some Gillian Welch when I looked at the “Listeners Also Bought” tab.  This is a worthwhile feature and has guided me to some true finds!!!  People’s reviews, when thoughtful and informed, are also a great place to gawk and gander.

So it is thanks to that, that I came upon the pure folk beauty of The Wailin’ Jennys.

Imagine every great folk/county vocalist like Patty Griffin, Shawn Colvin, Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss, Indigo Girls and of course Gillian Welch and then multiply by three.

They changed their line up after their debut, but the band has been consistent with Nicky Mehta, Ruth Moody and Heather Masse.  What you get are some of the most beautiful harmonies you will ever hear.

On a day like today, when I am feeling a little lost and down, this is the perfect Southern remedy.  Well… I guess Canadian remedy is more accurate, and since, depending on whom you talk to, they do seem to have a better health care system up yonder; I’ll take this luscious Canadian elixir any time!

Their latest, Bright Morning Stars just came out a month ago, and I will certainly be tracking that down… and I am on my local library’s wait list to borrow their debut 40, but I always like to try to start at the beginning and see how a band grows and progresses.  I cannot imagine them getting better… but I am anxious to hear more.

No need to do a track-by-track here because this in album that you just need to put in and play.  Well… okay, I firmly believe most albums should be listened to from start to finish, but obviously there will always be tracks that just grab you and stand out and some that either take a while or just don’t do it.  Music is subjective for sure.  The key is to like what you like and damn what anyone else says…

No!  That is not a Justin Bieber confession.  Please!!!  Have a little faith in me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

