My Bruce

I was inspired by a list Ben Mankiewicz did on the Huffington Post.  Thanks for sending that TRH!  While he included very specific live performances, which as any Springsteen fan knows can easily shape your opinion of a particular song, I found the list perplexing and intriguing… But that is the great thing about music and especially Bruce… We all have our own special songs that mean something very precise and different to each of us.

Picking my favorite Bruce Springsteen songs was not going to be easy.  I mean, there are some that just grab me from the first note and never let go; some that have snuck up on me, some that become much more alive in concert and some that form the soundtrack of my life.  His catalog is tremendous and his musical and political effect on me is beyond words.

I decided to pick my top three songs from each of his studio albums… and will finish the deal with my Top 10.

These are simply MY personal faves…  and although I think the top three are pretty safe from a changing of the mind or spirit, the order of the rest of the Top 10 and perhaps even a song or two, is subject to alterations… depending on mood, or a most recent concert set list!

Greetings From Asbury Park, N.J.

Growin’ Up – This is still my favorite Bruce song of all time.  It just grabs you in certain places… yes, balls… and never lets you go!

Does This Bus Stop at 82nd Street

Blinded by the Light

The Wild, The Innocent and the E Street Shuffle

Rosalita – This is either second or perhaps a tie for my favorite Bruce song…  On album or especially live, this song has an energy that is riveting, elevating and just joyous.

Kitty’s Back

Incident on 57th Street

Born to Run

My favorite Bruce album for sure… Every song is a gem and I love each and every one with a passion.  So hard to limit this album to three, but here goes…

Meeting Across the River. I particularly love this song and the story telling so much, yet have never heard it played live.  If Bruce plays four shows, and I go to three, this is the song he plays at the one show I missed… and this has happened over and over and over.  Okay, like my friend Russ says… don’t skip a show.

Thunder Road

Born to Run

Perhaps these are both easy picks, but when played live, these anthems become a religious calling.

Darkness on the Edge of Town

The Promised Land – Another anthem and another guide on how to live life.  I mean that’s the thing about Bruce… He is an observe and an instigator… But when you listen to his music, you just want to do something better… You just want to go out into the world and make a difference. 

Badlands

Darkness on the Edge of Town

The River

Hungry Heart – As crazy as this is… and believe me, I will regret this for the rest of my life… I did not see Bruce on this tour, which most folks will say was Bruce at his peak.   Again, live or in your room, this song takes you places.

Out in the Street

The River

Nebraska

Atlantic City – Songs like this put Bruce into the stratosphere as far as singer-songwriters go.   What he is able to capture in music and word is astounding.

Johnny 99

Reason to Believe

Born in the USA

Glory Days – Bruce was never bigger… 5 million sold out shows at Giants Stadium let us all know that.  For some, this album was a sell out, for some it was the first introduction to the best living rocker around… sorry Mick and company… You too, Pete.   Whatever your thoughts are, just think about how you feel when you hear the opening notes of this song.  Great, huh? 

No Surrender

Bobby Jean

Tunnel of Love

Tunnel of Love – I love this album and I love this song… So many meanings given what was going on at the time… but a perfect stand-alone tune, too.  These live shows were great, including a St. Patty’s show at Rosemont Horizon outside of Chicago!

Brilliant Disguise

One Step Up

Part 2, tomorrow…

2 Comments

Filed under Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

2 responses to “My Bruce

  1. Josh Parks

    Nothing more fun than talking some Springsteen. I have to put a plug in for “Stolen Car.” Been thinking about (and playing) that song myself a bit recently and it has aged even better than I have. 🙂 Basically just two chords, the words and melody do the rest. For underappreciated and/or understated Bruce, that tops my list.

  2. With the much-anticipated release of the commemorative box set for Darkness on the Edge of Town slated for this November, Bruce Springsteen’s classic record is getting renewed attention in the music world. Fans are surely hungry for all the historic material they can get from the 1978 recording sessions and subsequent tour.

    For our own preview of what’s to come, we contacted Dick Wingate, who was intimately involved in the launch and marketing of the album and tour. He offers an insider’s view of what the Darkness era meant to Bruce and the band, while painting an often-humorous behind-the-scenes account of some of the tour’s highlights.

    Enjoy, and be certain to check out the book The Light in Darkness, which one fan said, “… would make a great companion piece to the commemorative Darkness box set…”

Leave a Reply

