I Love Hockey

There… I said it… Just in case you were unsure as I sat and watched almost all of the Caps-Penguins game last night… and then trotted over to my friend Brad’s to watch the Hawks move on to the next round.

I love hockey. It  actually give me pleasure. I caught myself smiling more than once as I watched the Caps force a Game 7 with an overtime win in what was a crazy game. The Hawks game was just as crazy… and exciting and amazing and… Okay, if you do not love hockey and you call yourself a sports fan, then YOU are just plain crazy.

My friend Brad likes to point out that it is the only sport where you need to have mastered one amazing skill… skating… before you can master the other amazing skills, like puck handling, defense, the wicked wrist shot, the powerful slap shot, etc. Think about it.

I love hockey!

Just watch Ovechkin, and yes, Cindy Crosby… Sorry, I meant to say Sidney Crosby. Watch Kane and Toews, who I refuse to call anything but Toes… I mean where in the world is an “oe” pronounced with the sound ay? Watch Khabibulin and Varlamov. Amazing. 

I love hockey.

Go back and watch the greats… Gretzky… Messier… Mikita… Orr… Esposito, Tony and Phil… Gilbert… Brodeur… Roy… the list goes on and on.

Okay, okay… I’ll call him “Tays!” Sheesh!

Hockey moves at lightning speed. It is amazing to watch live… and still enjoyable on TV. It is game of grace and strength and a game of roughness and toughness and power. It is a game of skill and a game of honor. Hockey is the greatest sport there is. Yes, I know the NFL would have something to say about that… and so would the NBA and MLB.

But you know what, I love hockey.

I love the Rangers and the Devils… I can explain.

I love the Hawks and the Kings.

I love the Bruins… for the great  Bobby Orr… and I like the Leafs… not love yet, but respect for my friends in Toronto.

I am even digging the Caps, mostly because I had a blast at the game when I was in DC!

I love hockey… and if you have even an inkling of doubt, get yourself to a game, especially during the playoffs… watch a few games on TV… watch the respect those players have for the Cup. Feel the history.

I’ll tell you, the greatest sporting event I have ever been to was watching the Ducks clinch the Stanley Cup. There was nothing like it. And the Ducks are down on my roster of teams I follow… so imagine how much love there will be for another Rangers’ Cup… Maybe even a Game 7 win… That my friends would be the greatest event of all time.

Now if the Hawks make it to the Finals… somebody, please get me to Chicago!

2 Comments

Filed under Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Ramblings and Musings - The Really Random Stuff

2 responses to “I Love Hockey

  1. Andrew Lance Pedroza

    “By the age of 18, the average American has witnessed 200,000 acts of violence on television, most of them occurring during Game 1 of the NHL playoff series.” I love this game!

  2. Andrew Lance Pedroza

    “By the age of 18, the average American has witnessed 200,000 acts of violence on television, most of them occurring during Game 1 of the NHL playoff series.”

Leave a Reply

