Joyous Music, Part 3

All right, before I continue, you must check out these two links.  I know they have made their way around the Internet and you have probably seen them already, but wow… I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of them.  And yes, I judged both books on their covers, so shame on me.

I had seen the one of Paul before… but Susan was a surprise…

Here is more of my lists of equally joyous music…

These songs are no less joyous than my previous list… but some are, perhaps, a little slower.

The Beach Boys – “God Only Knows.” Most of the songs on this list seem to be more upbeat and a bit more “electric,” but this is one of my favorite songs all time and is simply stunning.

Bob Marley – “Three Little Birds”

Cat Stevens – “Don’t Be Shy”

Elton John – “Tiny Dancer.” This song became extra joyous from the bus scene in Almost Famous.

Gram Parsons – “She”

Flight of the Conchords – “Carol Brown” (Funny as all hell, but actually quite a beautiful song, too!)

Fountains of Wayne – “Stacy’s Mom.” This is what some might consider a novelty song, but it is hard not tog et caught up in the fun of it.

Frank Zappa – “Watermelon in Easter Hay.”  One of the most beautiful songs you will ever hear!

Jackie Greene – “So Hard to Find My Way”

Jake Shimabukuro – “While My Guitar Gently Weeps.”  For me it is more about the video on You Tube, when he was maybe 17… What  a virtuoso… Seek it out.

Harry Chapin – “Corey’s Music”

Indigo Girls – “Galileo”

The Jayhawks – “Blue”

Jeff Buckley – Since one is a cover, I am going with “Last Goodbye” and his version of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah.

Jellyfish – “That Is Why”

Jimi Hendrix – “Purple Haze”

Jimmy Buffet – “Volcano.”  If music should be fun, than Jimmy is the king.

Jimmy Cliff – “Let Your Yeah Be Yeah.”

Jimmy Webb – Arguably one of the greatest  songwriters ever… and his version of his own “Wichita Lineman” is a stunner.

Joan Osbourne – “St. Theresa.”

Joe Jackson – “Breaking Us In Two.” While probably not “joyous” this song is one of my faves.

Joe Strummer – Johnny Appleseed

John Denver – “This Old Guitar.”  You doubt me?  Give it a listen.

John Hiatt – “Have A Little Faith in Me”

John Lennon – “Instant Karma” and “Whatever Gets You Through the Night.” You try picking only two!  Come on!

John Prine – “All the Best.”  One of the best there is!!!

John Waite – “Change” and “Missing You.”  Maybe it’s the flashback to my youth, but both these songs rock me out.

John Wesley Harding – “I’m Wrong About Everything” and “Kiss Me Miss Liberty.”  Yes, he used to be a friend of mine, but objectively he is a fantastic songwriter and musician and a great guy.

Johnny Cash – Where do I start?  Here are three of my faves… “I Walk the Line,” “Ring of Fire” and “Get  Rhythm”

Joni Mitchell – “For Free.”  How can this song not inspire you???

Journey – “Any Way You Want It.”  There are many fun songs, but this is the one that get s you moving the fastest.

Jules Shear – “Listen to What She Say,” and “Bird In That Cage.”  Don’t know him?  Check out Healing Bones… great from start to finish.


TO BE CONTINUED…

Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Marc's Playlist - Music That Moves Me

Leave a Reply

