Follow Your Bliss

Okay, if you’re like me, you are not truly doing this. Life is hard, money needs to be made, and the economy sucks the big one. Or worse, you are trying hard to follow your bliss, but the gate keepers are blocking you with spike strips and cauldrons of hot oil! Or was that my high speed pursuit?

The other day I was driving home and noticed a huge movie or TV shoot right down the block. Ahhh… honey wagons, trailers, rain machines, lights, the works… I get so jealous when I see that… especially knowing how close the shoot is, and that not a single soul working on the project knows I exist. AAGGHH! My dream is to be on a set everyday… to be surrounded by artists and crafts people… to be making art and entertaining the world. Am I close? Not by a long shot and that hurts a lot. Maybe it will happen, maybe it won’t. 

Career frustration… lack of bread… fighting at home… it’s enough to knock a pretty good man down to the ground. And forget watching or reading the news… that makes me want to swallow some hemlock even more.

So what can we do… aside from following our bliss?  I say we make a pleasure list. What is it that makes us happy… simple things… things that do not cost much… Each one of should take a minute or two to do this. I mean, why not?

I am including a link to a video that will make you ball your eyes out… but in a good way. Watch the unbridled reactions of the crowd and the team. See the utter and pure joy that flows so freely. THIS IS WHAT LIFE IS ABOUT, FOLKS! This is it, plain and simple.

So let’s all find the things that make us happy, and seek them out… grab hold of them, and never, ever let them go.

The laughter of my wife and daughter. I love hearing them laugh and seeing them smile.

Tickle fights.

My family.

My dog Bozie… the sweetest pooch ever.

My friends… most of them. Kidding… All of you!

Music… Bruce Springsteen, especially live… okay, that costs some dough… but it is as close to a true religious experience as I have ever had. Music is the sound of G-d. Or the universal sound of the world, if that is not your bag. Music is glorious. Music is… it just is!

The Beatles, The Beach Boys, The Pearlfishers, The Who, The Stones, U2, Bagpipe music… Stephen Schwartz, Stephen Sondheim, Jason Robert Brown, George and Ira Gershwin, John Coltrane, Ella Fitzgerald, Louis Armstrong, Ben Folds, Barenaked Ladies, Koko Taylor, Albert Collins, Junior Wells, Lyle Lovett, Stew, Paul Simon, Pink Floyd, The Ramones, Robert Randolph, Rush, Squeeze, Steely Dan, Steve Miller, Tom Petty, Townes Van Zandt, Van Halen, Van Morrison, Venice, Stevie Wonder, Tom Waits, Warren Zevon… and the list goes on and on!

Playing the blues harp

Steve Martin, George Carlin

Dreams of Scotland

Sushi

Dr. Brown’s Cream Soda

The Godfather I and II, Almost Famous, Willy Wonka, Tootsie, Local Hero, Gregory’s Girl… These are my “comfort films.” I dare you to find one of these on cable or even commercial TV and be able to stop watching.

Often I’m not able to follow my own advice… but I’m really gonna try… I’m really gonna follow my bliss!

Leave a comment

Filed under Marc's Mixed Bag - A Little Of Everything, Ramblings and Musings - The Really Random Stuff

Leave a Reply

